Though I have to admit, I chuckled a bit at the image of Joel Allen Sloan, of Fultondale, AL, standing with his arms cuffed behind his brightly colored get-up. Sloan has been pulled over by deputies for driving under the influence…and doing so dressed in full clown garb.
Though rainbow wigs and oversized sneakers are certainly not a crime (against fashion maybe), operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol level of .08 certainly is. Motorists alerted a deputy of a red Ford SUV driving erratically and changing lanes the night of Saturday, February 6th. When pulled over, Sloan admitted to having a few drinks earlier that evening at a local restaurant. He was held at the Jefferson County Jail with a bond set at $2,500. In addition to the DUI, Sloan was being held for an outstanding warrant felony warrant for first-degree theft of property. No word yet as to why Sloan was dressed as a clown that evening.
So before you down your rainbow afro and get behind the wheel, here are some facts about facing a first time DUI in Arizona.
Driving under the influence with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or over is against the law in Arizona. A breathalyzer test is typically used to determine a driver’s blood alcohol content, though blood and urine tests may also be used.
How Many Drinks to .08?
The number of drinks an individual must consume to be over the legal limit varies from person to person, and can be affected by many factors including age, gender, medication or other substances, and eating habits. Individuals under the age of 21 are subject to a zero tolerance policy, meaning a DUI will be issued it there is a positive percentage of BAC at all. Check out this page for more on Underage DUI charges in Arizona.
First Time DUI Penalties in Arizona
Some of all of these penalties may apply depending on the circumstances surrounding the case.
- License Suspension of up to 90 days
- Anywhere from 1 day to 10 days of jail time
- Utilization of an ignition interlock device
- Alcohol and substance abuse screenings, counseling, or in-patient treatment
Fines, fees, and surcharges totaling around $1,600
If you have been pulled over under the suspicion that you are operating a vehicle while intoxicated, it is important to remember your rights. For example, you do not need to submit to a field sobriety test. If you or anyone you know has been charged with a crime, immediately seek out a criminal defense attorney who will ensure the accused’s rights are protected. To schedule a no obligation consultation call me at 480-331-7568.