Arizona’s stiff penalties for DUI include mandatory jail time and the installment of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for one year. While these punishments are definitely disruptive and humiliating for a person convicted of DUI, they may not be as detrimental as having your driver’s license revoked. The suspension of a person’s driver’s license is one of the often-overlooked penalties of DUI that can have long-reaching effects.
Arizona DUI Law and Driver’s License Suspension
If convicted of DUI, your driver’s license can be suspended anywhere from 90 days to three years based on the circumstances of your case. First time misdemeanor DUI offenders are typically looking at a suspension that lasts up to 90 days. You are able to apply for a restricted license after 30 days, which will allow you to drive to work or to court-assigned treatments that are part of your DUI conviction. This restricted license is issued based on your previous driving record.
But for felony DUI convictions, it’s an entirely different ballgame. Felony DUI offenders are looking at a driver’s license suspension of up to three years. Often there are no allowances for a restricted license in these cases.
A driver’s license suspension catches many DUI offenders off guard. At first it might seem like having to spend 24 hours in jail is the most intrusive part of being convicted of a DUI. But those 24 hours will come and pass soon enough. Now you’re facing the challenge of engaging in your normal life routine without being able to drive for an extended period of time. This affects everyday life, such as getting to and from work, transporting kids to school and even being able to legally drive to the grocery store for food.
Another thing to keep in mind is that in Arizona you can have your license suspended even if you haven’t been convicted of a DUI. If your breath test results at the time you are stopped for suspected DUI show results of at least .08, you will receive an affidavit stating that the Motor Vehicle Division will suspend your driver’s license in 15 days. This suspension happens regardless of the outcome of your case.
Driver’s License Reinstatement – Arizona DUI Law
It’s important that you get your license reinstated immediately after the suspension period is over. Your license is not automatically reinstated and if you continue to drive on a suspended license, you can face additional traffic violations and fees. There is a required fee that must be paid in order to reinstate your license.
You can contest this suspension of your driver’s license, but you have to go through the right channels with the correct paperwork.
Arizona Criminal Defense Attorney Kyle T. Green
As a Criminal Defense Attorney I can help reduce the punishment and consequences of a DUI charge and answer your questions about the status of your driver’s license and case. Call me at 480-331-7568 to schedule a no obligation case review where you can meet me and we can go over specifics as they relate to you and your questions. Next and same day appointments are often available. I look forward to working with you.
Back to Blogs